Traveling Fruits

food_inventory_map.jpg

Based on this map, most of the fruits we eat are not grown in Florida. We are importing a lot of fruits from around the United States and from other countries. Because fruits are very seasonal and only grow under certain conditions at certain times of the year, it makes sense that we are importing them from other places if they are currently out of season in Florida. There are so many local farms in Florida, especially up in Homestead, so it seem silly to be purchasing fruits that are coming from so far away. I will definitely be making  more conscious effort to buy fruits that are locally grown only. Not only does it seem ridiculous to buy fruits that are coming all the way from other countries, but the shipping methods contribute to climate change and global warming, which is something I do not want to contribute to.

 

 

Group Members: Rachel Tammone, Katrina Stegmann, Alia Giolitti, Danny Miranda, Lorena Claure

3 thoughts on “Traveling Fruits”

  1. I agree, looking at this map I feel extremely guilty about purchasing fruits anywhere except local farmers markets. Buying local would limit the impact that I would be making on the environment with the amount of fossil fuels used to transport the products to the consumer as well as other resources such as water and energy, as well as boosting the local economy among other things. One factor to consider however, as a student where convenience is generally a huge factor in my food purchases, sometimes it is just easier to run down the street to Trader Joes or to Whole Foods than it is spending time and extra money to get an uber to where the local markets are.

    Like

  2. I have noticed from my personal grocery shopping experience that often I pick up fruits from what flavors I like but when I take them home they don’t taste very good- almost fake and not ripe. Most likely this flavor I’m tasting is from many preservatives used and not native fruits to here so they have had to travel long and far. Any time I eat local from markets or even a tree in a backyard here I can taste and feel the difference. It makes you realize looking at this map how far the frutis have travelled- and how much GAS and resources are used to transport the food that is not local or is season in your home region. This makes sense that 13% of the carbon footprint of the United States is from agriculture- not only creating and producing the food but transporting it across the country.

    Like

  3. Coming from a country that has strict seasonality rules, having wide variety of food, in this case fruits, was never an option for me. We ate what was available, and never thought of what wasn’t, and it was normal. I was awed when I came to live in the United States and realized that I can pretty much have whatever I want, whenever I wanted. Convenience and commodity; this is part of the reason why myself, as well as many others, think of the US as a magical place. However, I didn’t realize that this contributes to environmental, economical, and societal problems. Having everything readily available is great, but it is also a burden on our environment and ecosystems. When looking at this map I instantly thought: what fruit would even last this long in order for it to be transported from parts of south america, or even Europe, to the US? The answer to this is that fruits are picked when they are green, and they are then ripened artificially so that they last longer during transport. Although the other alternative – buying local – is more environmentally friendly, how is it that it is the most expensive option? Even when taking transportation and production of foreign fruits into account?

    Like

Leave a Reply

